Help & FAQ

Go here to learn more about your site, view video tutorials and find answers to frequently asked questions.

Chadderton FC


Website last updated: 26 Mar, 2015 @ 22:27


Chadderton FC History

 Chadderton FC History

Chadderton FC was originally formed in 1946 under the name of Burnley Lane Estate Juniors, who joined the Middleton Youth League and played on Parkway on the Parkway Estate.

In 1947, an Open Age team was also formed and both teams moved to Mill Brow and adopted the name Millbrow Football Club. They played at the side of the canal at Mills Hill and changed at the Rose of Lancaster Pub.

Later they moved to Broadway changing their name to North Chadderton Amateurs, and changed at the Chadderton Arms Pub.

The Club adopted its present name, Chadderton FC in 1957.

The Club started life in the Oldham Amateur League, winning the Challenge Cup in 1954/55.

The following season the Club joined the Manchester Amateur League and won the League Championship in their first season.

After winning the League Championship again in 1962/63, Chadderton then joined the Manchester League winning the Second Division title in their first season 1963/64 and gaining promotion to the First Division.

The Club won the League's Murray Shield in 1964/65, their first season in Division One, and then the League title in 1966/67.

1969/70 Chadderton FC won the Manchester League Gilgryst Cup  

During the 1970's the Clubs only honours came in the form of the Manchester Challenge Trophy which they won in 1971/72, but failed to retain it in the following season, finishing runners-up.

Chadderton made the step into a higher grade of football in 1980 when they joined the Lancashire Combination. The Club made a good start in this league, finishing runners-up in 1981/82.

In 1982, Chadderton became one of the founder members of the North West Counties Football League, following the merger of the Lancashire Combination and the Cheshire County League.

The Club gained promotion to Division One in 1989/90 after finishing third in the league, but were relegated the following season.

Promotion came once again in 1992/93 but, after failing to meet ground grading requirements, were relegated in 1998/99.

Chadderton's proudest moments have come in seeing the progression of its former players, such as formerEnglandcaptain David Platt, Former Leeds United andCrystalPalaceplayer, John Pemberton and Northern Ireland International, Steve Jones.

Former player Mike Ford forged a successful career in both codes of Rugby and Mark Owen of Take That, also once pulled on the red shirt of Chadderton FC!

Off the field in 2007, the Club was the subject of a take-over by local businessmen Craig Halliwell and Tony Bhatti, the joint owners of The HB Property Group Limited (previously The Halliwell Bhatti Group) which is the parent company of the local property development company Hillstone Developments Limited.

The members of Chadderton voted overwhelmingly in October 2006 for the take-over to go ahead and after 10 long months the legalities were finally completed in August 2007.

In August 2009 Chadderton's association with The HB Property Group Limited was terminated and Chadderton Football Club reverted to a members club run by the people for the people.

In 2013 Paul Buckley, Chadderton FC Manager since December 2005 was forced to retire as  the Manager due to ill health after steering the Club to a number of top 5 positions, in his time at the Club, also reaching the semi finals of the League Cup and the Divisional Cup.

Steve Patterson and Mark Cook have been appointed as Joint Managers from 2013-2014 season together with Ben Greenidge as Player/Assistant Manager and Matthew McNeill as Team Coach

1954-55 Winners         Oldham Amateur League - Challenge Cup

1955-56 Champions     Manchester Amateur League North  
1959-60 Winners          Manchester CountyF.A.Youth Cup                        
1960-61 Runners Up    ManchesterCountyF.A Youth Cup

1961-62 Winners          Alfred Pettit & Hulme Celtic Cup    

1962-63 Champions     ManchesterAmateur League Div 1

1964-65 Champions     ManchesterLeague Division 2  

1965-66 Winners          ManchesterLeagueMurrayShield

1966-67 Champions     ManchesterLeage Div 1  

1969-70 Winners          ManchesterLeague Gilgryst Cup 

1971-72 Winners          ManchesterCountyFAChallenge Trophy

1972-73 Runners up     Manchester County FA Challenge Trophy

1981-82 Runnersup      LancashireCombination Cup

1982-83 Runners up     Manchester County Premier Cup

1985-86 Champions     Bass N.W.C League Reserve Division Cup

1990-91 Runners up     Bass N.W.C League Reserve Division Cup

1991-92 Chaampions   Bass N.W.C League Reserve Division Cup

1992-93 Runners up    Tennants Floodlit Cup

1999-00 Winners         Umbro International Cup